Jump to content

 


Advertisement
Welcome to IndianVideoGamer.com
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Ask The Experts

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
5382 replies to this topic

#31
HundredProofSam

HundredProofSam

    If I started another forum it would be called Desaibaba.

  • Root Admin
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,904 posts
  • Location:Mumbai
  • XBL GT:HPSam
  • PSN ID:HPS-IVG
  • Steam:HundredProofSam

Asus K8V-VM


thats what i have....it has AGP not PCI express

my bad, i have an Asus K8V-MX



peace


  • ghffueeivp and Icefcrelf like this
"This is no place for a horse"

#32
HundredProofSam

HundredProofSam

    If I started another forum it would be called Desaibaba.

  • Root Admin
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,904 posts
  • Location:Mumbai
  • XBL GT:HPSam
  • PSN ID:HPS-IVG
  • Steam:HundredProofSam
so is the K8V-VM good enough for a decent graphics card and is the sempron good enough for gaming?



peace
"This is no place for a horse"

#33
CarbonCore

CarbonCore

    IVG Hall of Fame Member

  • Administrators
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,243 posts
  • Location:Mumbai
  • XBL GT:CarbonCore
  • PSN ID:CarbonCores
  • Steam:Carboncores
  • Now Playing:Wonderful 101

i no this is a bit too early, but ill be buyin a laptop nex year, since my desktop is sh*t, i want a really good laptop, i am leanin towards a macbook pro wid 4 gb ram...etc...so advice on wether i shuld by frm india or not?


Macbook Pros cost a fortune in India. The lowest model starts from about 1.2L while the highest goes above 1.5L, none of them comes with 4GB as standard. I'd suggest to get it from abroad if you can. You can buy AppleCare in India which will give you three years intl. replacement warranty.

Gaming PC - i5 4570, Asus R9 290 DirectCU II Liquid Cooled with Kraken G10+H55, Ripjaws 8gb ram, NZXT Phantom 530 Full Tower, Corsair RM750

PS4/Vita, WiiU/3DS/3DSXL


#34
ЯeVeЯse

ЯeVeЯse

    Regular Member

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Location:Fortress of Barnitude
Nah....sempron is an entry level processor, it's geared towards basic tasks....if you plug in one of the more recent graphic cards into that board, it'll get bottlenecked by the processor meaning that the processor would limit the GPU. If you're planning on using any of the newer graphic cards such as the GeForce 8 series or ATI's HD 2xxx series, then get a newer processor and board. Something like a Socket AM2 Athlon X2 or Intel's Core 2 Duo Socket 775 series.

#35
HundredProofSam

HundredProofSam

    If I started another forum it would be called Desaibaba.

  • Root Admin
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,904 posts
  • Location:Mumbai
  • XBL GT:HPSam
  • PSN ID:HPS-IVG
  • Steam:HundredProofSam

Nah....sempron is an entry level processor, it's geared towards basic tasks....if you plug in one of the more recent graphic cards into that board, it'll get bottlenecked by the processor meaning that the processor would limit the GPU. If you're planning on using any of the newer graphic cards such as the GeForce 8 series or ATI's HD 2xxx series, then get a newer processor and board. Something like a Socket AM2 Athlon X2 or Intel's Core 2 Duo Socket 775 series.


thanks buddy....any idea how much a Socket AM2 Athlon X2 with new mobo and a GeForce 8 series would cost me? doesnt have to be exact; ballpark figure



peace
"This is no place for a horse"

#36
slackerninja

slackerninja

    Mamu got trolled

  • Administrators
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,242 posts
  • Location:Trollistan
  • Now Playing:Your broken heart

so is the K8V-VM good enough for a decent graphics card and is the sempron good enough for gaming?



peace


Depends, what games, what res and if you are cool with a bit of overclocking.

Nah....sempron is an entry level processor, it's geared towards basic tasks....if you plug in one of the more recent graphic cards into that board, it'll get bottlenecked by the processor meaning that the processor would limit the GPU. If you're planning on using any of the newer graphic cards such as the GeForce 8 series or ATI's HD 2xxx series, then get a newer processor and board. Something like a Socket AM2 Athlon X2 or Intel's Core 2 Duo Socket 775 series.


thanks buddy....any idea how much a Socket AM2 Athlon X2 with new mobo and a GeForce 8 series would cost me? doesnt have to be exact; ballpark figure



peace


i'd say a 5200/5600+ X2 + mobo +8800GTS 320 MB would be around 35K. Plus you'd need DDR2 RAM, 2GB is around 4K.

Edited by h3lios, 27 October 2007 - 12:02 AM.

Yes, IVG exists beyond this site. FB (IndianVideoGamer), Twitter (@IndianVG) and Twitch(IndianVideoGamer). Join us and bring your friends.


hope, on 27 Mar 2014 - 10:56 PM, said:
What that hindalco Kojima did is not civil,ripping off money by the name "Its for the Fans" :furious: He and Kounami deserves it :furious:

#37
ЯeVeЯse

ЯeVeЯse

    Regular Member

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Location:Fortress of Barnitude
Yeah, if you're going to use say for example an 8800 GTS, you should have atleast an Atlhon X2 4400+ or above. Hell, if you can afford it you can even go up to 5000+. Last I checked, the AMD X2 5000+ goes for about, 6k. Prices will have dropped now, I'm sure of it. Add about 3-4.5k for a decent Nforce 5 series motherboard, and about another 2.5k for some DDR2 RAM. (DDR is not compatible with AM2.)

If you can afford it, go for Core2Duo. It is the BEST solution for gaming, although if you're on a tight budget AMD is king.

#38
HundredProofSam

HundredProofSam

    If I started another forum it would be called Desaibaba.

  • Root Admin
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,904 posts
  • Location:Mumbai
  • XBL GT:HPSam
  • PSN ID:HPS-IVG
  • Steam:HundredProofSam

so is the K8V-VM good enough for a decent graphics card and is the sempron good enough for gaming?



peace


Depends, what games, what res and if you are cool with a bit of overclocking.


hmm, looks like im better of getting a new processor, board & graphics card



peace
"This is no place for a horse"

#39
HundredProofSam

HundredProofSam

    If I started another forum it would be called Desaibaba.

  • Root Admin
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,904 posts
  • Location:Mumbai
  • XBL GT:HPSam
  • PSN ID:HPS-IVG
  • Steam:HundredProofSam

Yeah, if you're going to use say for example an 8800 GTS, you should have atleast an Atlhon X2 4400+ or above. Hell, if you can afford it you can even go up to 5000+. Last I checked, the AMD X2 5000+ goes for about, 6k. Prices will have dropped now, I'm sure of it. Add about 3-4.5k for a decent Nforce 5 series motherboard, and about another 2.5k for some DDR2 RAM. (DDR is not compatible with AM2.)

If you can afford it, go for Core2Duo. It is the BEST solution for gaming, although if you're on a tight budget AMD is king.



thanks....how much for the 8800 GTS itself?



peace
"This is no place for a horse"

#40
ЯeVeЯse

ЯeVeЯse

    Regular Member

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Location:Fortress of Barnitude
Last I checked, (it's been a while), the 640MB version was hovering around 22k and the 320MB version for about 16-17k. Again, prices would have probably dropped. Also, another card called the 8800GT is coming out, and it offers great performance for a good price apparently, so I suggest you wait for that and get that. It costs just 250$ in the us and it'll probably land over here for 14k, somewhere around there, not sure. That should do well to play the latest games.

#41
HundredProofSam

HundredProofSam

    If I started another forum it would be called Desaibaba.

  • Root Admin
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,904 posts
  • Location:Mumbai
  • XBL GT:HPSam
  • PSN ID:HPS-IVG
  • Steam:HundredProofSam
alright, thanks man....uve been very helpful



peace
"This is no place for a horse"

#42
ЯeVeЯse

ЯeVeЯse

    Regular Member

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Location:Fortress of Barnitude
No problem, you're welcome. :)

#43
Kazekage Gaara

Kazekage Gaara

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,141 posts
  • Location:Mumbai, India.
Hmm....so it seems Dell is good. May be I'll go with it then :)

Hey Vinit, I'll check out the Dell Inspiron 1520 that you recommended :D

So, guys, I wanted to ask, is 8600M really any good ? Is it worth it ? I mean I always wanted a gaming PC but the area I live in has really bad loadshedding for 4 to 5 hours :( thats why the laptop, and although am going to be using it for business purposes, I intend to play a few 360 to PC ports like Overlord, Lost Planet, Bioshock, etc.....so is it good ?

Edited by Kazekage Gaara, 27 October 2007 - 02:44 AM.

Posted Image

#44
arun360

arun360

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Location:Bangalore
  • XBL GT:DarkwolfSteve
  • PSN ID:JengaInSpace
my $0.02 :)
I think this is the wrong time to severely dent your wallets on a high end gaming pc.. We're at the end of an era for some motherboard tech and memory tech, I hear.
Quad Cores, DDR3 and SLIs and other technobabble will soon be launched or become more affordable.

Wait 6 months... play on the 360 ... 2007 titles should keep you busy for a while.

Edited by arun360, 27 October 2007 - 01:07 AM.


#45
Kazekage Gaara

Kazekage Gaara

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,141 posts
  • Location:Mumbai, India.
Also another question, just so I don't run out of battery power, is there a way I can just plug and play an external battery and BAM!!! more working hours ???

Thanx in advance for all the help :)
Posted Image

#46
khanak

khanak

    Active Member

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Location:Mumbai/Toronto
  • PSN ID:adhishb
Have you considered a Mac? Macbooks are really good to look at, have around 6 hours of battery life and have an extremely simple to use OS.

#47
Daedalus

Daedalus

    Daddu McLovin

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,788 posts
  • Location:Mumbai
  • XBL GT:arc4de fire
so is teh NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT graphics with 256MB SDRAM which is standard wid the mac book pro good enough ?
<div align="center">NDSlite|PS2|360|PS3|PSP|GBA</div>
<div align="center"><a href="http://www.playfire....m/anksam/games" target="_blank">My Games.</a></div>

#48
khanak

khanak

    Active Member

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Location:Mumbai/Toronto
  • PSN ID:adhishb
why do you want a mac book pro? unless your into editing and stuff the macbooks are usually good enough.

#49
Daedalus

Daedalus

    Daddu McLovin

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,788 posts
  • Location:Mumbai
  • XBL GT:arc4de fire
if its a mac, its gotta be a mac book pro, the mac book specs jus dont cut it
<div align="center">NDSlite|PS2|360|PS3|PSP|GBA</div>
<div align="center"><a href="http://www.playfire....m/anksam/games" target="_blank">My Games.</a></div>

#50
khanak

khanak

    Active Member

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Location:Mumbai/Toronto
  • PSN ID:adhishb
the only thing the mac book pro has which the mac book doesnt is the graphics card, which unless you plan on doing some editting or photoshopping is pretty useless.

#51
khanak

khanak

    Active Member

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Location:Mumbai/Toronto
  • PSN ID:adhishb
Keep in mind that the Macbook costs half as much as a Mac book pro.

#52
Kazekage Gaara

Kazekage Gaara

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,141 posts
  • Location:Mumbai, India.
Guys....am not buying a Macbook okay. They are costly and most of my software WOULDN'T WORK on Mac OS.

So now can anyone please answer my questions. I need to get this thing cleared off as soon as possible and make a proper decision. If the graphics card isn't any good, then I'll just buy the laptop without it and use it only for business purposes.

Thanx in advance for the help guys....
Posted Image

#53
vinitwins

vinitwins

    Founder

  • Jr Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,630 posts
  • Location:Mumbai
  • XBL GT:vinitwins
  • PSN ID:vinitwins | vinitwins_us
  • Steam:narangi_dabba
http://www.notebookc...p;sort=3dmark06

2 cards in the 8600M series - The 8600M GS and **8600M GT** - the GT should be able to handle all current games at 10x7 (medium quality) and possibly even crysis at low quality 8x6 (check link below)

http://www.yougamers...ter/10213/?sa=1



V


RROD'ed 360 Premium (NTSC-U) w/ soft-modded MS28 + 360 Core (PAL): GoW2 | COD4 | Halo 3 | Bioshock | GoW | Table Tennis | GRAW | Dead Rising | COD2 | Viva Pinata | FNR3 | Burnout Revenge | PGR3 | Rumble Roses XX | Condemned | Saints Row | PDZ | FIFA 06


PS3 40GB Ceramic White (NTSC-J): Resistance 2 | LBP | MGS4 | UT3 | Warhawk | Ratchet & Clank | Uncharted | Resistance*

#54
Daedalus

Daedalus

    Daddu McLovin

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,788 posts
  • Location:Mumbai
  • XBL GT:arc4de fire
so can the graphics card be changed in a mac book pro?
<div align="center">NDSlite|PS2|360|PS3|PSP|GBA</div>
<div align="center"><a href="http://www.playfire....m/anksam/games" target="_blank">My Games.</a></div>

#55
Daedalus

Daedalus

    Daddu McLovin

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,788 posts
  • Location:Mumbai
  • XBL GT:arc4de fire
Alienware Area-51 m9750 Notebook

how much will this cost?
<div align="center">NDSlite|PS2|360|PS3|PSP|GBA</div>
<div align="center"><a href="http://www.playfire....m/anksam/games" target="_blank">My Games.</a></div>

#56
MarketTantrik

MarketTantrik

    Effective Mass

  • Administrators
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,084 posts
  • XBL GT:markettantrik
  • PSN ID:markettantrik
  • Steam:markettantrik

http://www.notebookc...p;sort=3dmark06

2 cards in the 8600M series - The 8600M GS and **8600M GT** - the GT should be able to handle all current games at 10x7 (medium quality) and possibly even crysis at low quality 8x6 (check link below)

http://www.yougamers...ter/10213/?sa=1



V


I tried running Crysis at 800x600 and medium quality.

Its just not worth it at that low resolution. You will need a minimum resolution of 1024x768 and medium detail to appreciate the game. And even my 8600GTS just about cuts the mustard. You're better off keeping Crysis out of your decision making parameter matrix.

#57
vinitwins

vinitwins

    Founder

  • Jr Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,630 posts
  • Location:Mumbai
  • XBL GT:vinitwins
  • PSN ID:vinitwins | vinitwins_us
  • Steam:narangi_dabba
wanna buy a 19-20-21' widescreen LCD monitor... does it make better sense to purchase a 21' LCD TV instead?

would want to hook up my PC (VGA/DVI), 360 (VGA) and my tata sky tuner (composite/s-video, if possible). Component OR HDMI inputs would solve any future hassles when trying to hook up a PS3. response time, brightness, contrast, panel type should be suitable for gaming and watching movies.

awaiting your gyaan and recommendations.


V


RROD'ed 360 Premium (NTSC-U) w/ soft-modded MS28 + 360 Core (PAL): GoW2 | COD4 | Halo 3 | Bioshock | GoW | Table Tennis | GRAW | Dead Rising | COD2 | Viva Pinata | FNR3 | Burnout Revenge | PGR3 | Rumble Roses XX | Condemned | Saints Row | PDZ | FIFA 06


PS3 40GB Ceramic White (NTSC-J): Resistance 2 | LBP | MGS4 | UT3 | Warhawk | Ratchet & Clank | Uncharted | Resistance*

#58
skdMrk

skdMrk

    Active Member

  • Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPip
  • 490 posts
  • Location:Bangalore
  • XBL GT:skdMrkPro
  • PSN ID:skdMrkPro
  • Steam:skdMrkPro

wanna buy a 19-20-21' widescreen LCD monitor... does it make better sense to purchase a 21' LCD TV instead?

would want to hook up my PC (VGA/DVI), 360 (VGA) and my tata sky tuner (composite/s-video, if possible). Component OR HDMI inputs would solve any future hassles when trying to hook up a PS3. response time, brightness, contrast, panel type should be suitable for gaming and watching movies.

awaiting your gyaan and recommendations.


V


Dell's SP2208WFP

22 inches, Response Time (Typical) 2ms, Luminance (Brightness) 300 cd/m2 (Typical), Dynamic Contrast Ratio (Typical) 2000:1, Connector Type: Analog, DVI-D (Digital) with HDCP, HDMI, Optimal Resolution 1680 x 1050 at 60 Hz

Price: Rs 22,000.00 (Tax Extra)
Hardware: | XBox 360 Slim 250 GB | PS3 250GB | Display: Samsung 51" Plasma | Audio: Yamaha receiver - RX-V465 with Mission's M34i speakers |

#59
vinitwins

vinitwins

    Founder

  • Jr Members
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,630 posts
  • Location:Mumbai
  • XBL GT:vinitwins
  • PSN ID:vinitwins | vinitwins_us
  • Steam:narangi_dabba
^ nahh its too expensive bro, might as well consider upping my budget of 20k to buy a <26inch LCD TV at that price!

the 20-incher - Dell 2007WFP is also suitable (composite and svideo inputs) but it's priced out of my budget as well (29k)! btw, the 2407WFP is a dream monitor - component, composite, DVI, VGA, media reader - droooool!

came across another monitor - Asus PW201 - but this one is priced at 38k!!



so lets switch tracks - you guys know of any LCD TVs (<26-inches) that can double up as my primary PC monitor?



V


RROD'ed 360 Premium (NTSC-U) w/ soft-modded MS28 + 360 Core (PAL): GoW2 | COD4 | Halo 3 | Bioshock | GoW | Table Tennis | GRAW | Dead Rising | COD2 | Viva Pinata | FNR3 | Burnout Revenge | PGR3 | Rumble Roses XX | Condemned | Saints Row | PDZ | FIFA 06


PS3 40GB Ceramic White (NTSC-J): Resistance 2 | LBP | MGS4 | UT3 | Warhawk | Ratchet & Clank | Uncharted | Resistance*

#60
MarketTantrik

MarketTantrik

    Effective Mass

  • Administrators
  • Feedback: View
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,084 posts
  • XBL GT:markettantrik
  • PSN ID:markettantrik
  • Steam:markettantrik

so lets switch tracks - you guys know of any LCD TVs (<26-inches) that can double up as my primary PC monitor?

V


An LCD TV will not be a suitable replacement for a monitor. I know cause I'm using one right now as a second screen.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users