Hitman goes episodic, collector’s edition revealed

After delaying to March 2016, Square Enix and Io Interactive have now changed the release structure of Hitman and announced the game will be “fully episodic.”


The episodes will be released over the course of the year, with the prologue and the Paris mission releasing first on March 11, followed by the next location set in Italy in April, and then Morocco releasing in May.

After this, players can expect monthly content updates that include locations in Thailand, the US and the season’s conclusion in Japan.

“Part of that decision is for that little bit of extra time to ensure every location we release is at the quality level fitting for a Hitman game. But the main driving reason is that this will allow us to create a living game that will expand and evolve over time and establish a foundation for the future–this is the first game in a storyline which will continue and expand with future Hitman games,” said Io boss Hannes Seifert.

An Indian-specific pricing is not yet out, but the game will be released for $15 for the first episode, followed by $10 for every subsequent location pack.

Alternatively, players will also be able to buy the full game for $60, which includes all the locations as well as bonus content. We should expect an equivalent regional pricing to hit India soon as well.


Square Enix has also unveiled the collector’s edition for Hitman, which will release in the end of 2016. Priced $139 in the US, this edition will include:

  • Hitman Game and Collector’s Box
  • Agent 47 10-inch Chessmaster Statue
  • Wearable Tie and Clip Set
  • Hardcover art book with 60 pages
  • Digital game download

Despite the $139 price, the Collector’s Edition doesn’t include a physical copy of the game, which is rather strange.

Hitman is due for release on Xbox One, PS4 and PC on March 11, with a beta planned sometime this February.

Show More
Back to top button